

# $\equiv$ UNM Newsroom (/)

Q

UNM Newsroom (/) / News (/news) / 2019 Teaching Excellence Awards recognize UNM's outstanding educators

# 2019 Teaching Excellence Awards recognize UNM's outstanding educators

**O** May 02, 2019

Each year, the Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) at The University of New Mexico hosts its annual teaching awards to recognize outstanding work from faculty excelling in the classroom. This year, the Center for Teaching Excellence, Graduate Studies and the College of Arts & Sciences are all collaborating to celebrate the 2019 Teaching Excellence Awards.

The award winners will be recognized at a ceremony Friday, May 3, from 2 to 4 p.m. in SUB Ballroom C.

The Center for Teaching Excellence will recognize the following teaching award winners:

### 2019-21 Presidential Teaching Fellow

Tamar Ginossar, Department of Communication & Journalism

#### **Outstanding Teacher of the Year**

Bethany Davila and Cristyn Elder, Department of English

#### New Teacher of the Year

Noah Painter-Davis, Department of Sociology Marygold Walsh-Dilley, Honors College / Department of Geography

#### **Online Teacher of the Year**

Shirley Heying, Department of Anthropology

#### **Lecturer of the Year**

Julianne Newmark, Department of English

#### Susan Deese-Roberts Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the Year

Amy Gore, Department of English
Debra Nieto, Department of Spanish & Portuguese
David Paez, Department of Spanish & Portuguese
Camille Dwyer, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences
Darin Brown, Department of Psychology

The College of Arts & Sciences will recognize the following teaching award winners:

# **Teaching Excellence Award - Tenured or Tenure track faculty**

Rueben "Jack" Thomas, Department of Sociology

#### **Teaching Excellence Award - Lecturer**

Andrea Mays, Departments of American Studies and Women Studies

#### **Teaching Excellence Award - Teaching Assistant**

Jillian Stafford, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology

#### William P. and Heather W. Weber Award for Teaching Excellence in Science or Math

Patricia Oakley, Department of Mathematics and Statistics Diana Habel-Rodriguez, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology.

The William P. and Heather W. Weber Fund for Excellence in Science/Math Teaching is an endowed fund that provides an annual award to professors or instructors who exemplifies excellence in undergraduate teaching in mathematics or sciences.

The award is named after William P. Weber and Heather W. Weber, both of whom taught for many years at the University of Southern California. William retired after a distinguished career as a professor of chemistry, while Heather retired with a distinguished career as a research professor of molecular biology. Heather taught at both USC and at the Los Angeles City College.

The Office of Graduate Studies will recognize the following teaching award winners:

#### **Faculty of Color Award for All Around**

Dr. Fares Qeadan, Department of Internal Medicine

## **Faculty of Color Award for Mentoring**

Dr. Virginia Necochea, Department of Teacher Education

This ceremony is jointly hosted by the Center for Teaching Excellence (http://cte.unm.edu/), Graduate Studies (http://grad.unm.edu/home/) and the College of Arts & Sciences (http://artsci.unm.edu/).